London Meanderings

View from Trafalgar Square on a March night.

2013-03-04 22.29.39

The London Eye on a March night.

2013-03-04 22.38.13

Big Ben and Parliament on the same March evening.

2013-03-05 12.53.01

Statue of King Richard I (the Lionheart) on horseback in front of Parliament.

2013-03-05 12.53.12

Parliament

2013-03-05 12.55.01

Westminster Abbey as seen from Parliament.

2013-03-05 13.33.48

I love how this shot of Big Ben and the London Eye lined up. The weather was amazingly beautiful on this day – March 5, 2013.

2013-03-04 22.01.15

A night view of Nelson’s Column at Trafalgar Square.

 

It’s been awhile since my last post, but I’ve not been slacking… really, I promise.  The Museum of London has earned two visits from me, I’ve also been to the National Gallery of Art twice. Amazing art there and they are open until 9pm on Friday nights. Woot!

Work is going quite well. I’m learning a lot of stuff, and my boss is cool – bad puns aside. 😉 My flatmates are pretty neat as well. I went on my first pub crawl with a couple of them this past weekend. Educational experience.

The above pics were taken within an 24 hour time period. The night ones were taken on March 4th while I meandered around. I was feeling kind of blah and needed to get out of the house, so I took bus 24 to Trafalgar Square. While there, I took photos of the two views of Trafalgar Square. Considering all of these photos were taken with my iPhone, they didn’t come out too bad. After I left Trafalgar Square, I walked down Northumberland Avenue to the Thames. It was a bit cool, but a nice night to wander. There is a Sherlock Holmes pub tucked off the road which looked really neat. Definitely will go back and pay a visit.

Once I got to the Thames, I turned right and walked along the Thames. That is where I got the excellent shot of the London Eye at night. I will never ride it (too scared of heights), but I bet the views are amazing, and it just looks so neat in the London sky. I also saw a monument to the heroes of the Battle of Britain. It was too dark to take good photos, but I will also go back there again. As I got to Westminster Bridge, I took the neat, but slightly blurred shot of Big Ben and Parliament. After I took these, I caught bus 24 again and headed home feeling much better about life in general.

I worked 9:30am to noon the next day, and took advantage of my afternoon off to wander near some of the areas I had been near the night before. It was an absolutely gorgeous day, the prettiest and warmest I’ve seen in London so far. I took the fantastic shot of Big Ben and the London Eye while walking around. While meandering, Parliament caught my eye and I was able to grab the shot you see above. The statue of King Richard the Lionheart also was visually appealing and had to take a photo of it. One my best shots from that day is the bare tree with Westminster Abbey behind it. Beautiful.

Thanks for reading about my day and hope you enjoy the pictures. More to come now that my new camera has arrived.

 

This entry was posted in Tourist Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment